20783291

TITLE: Last Train to Babylon: A Novel
AUTHOR: Charlee Fam
PUBLICATION: Published October 28th 2014 by William Morrow Paperbacks
GENRE: NA > Realistic Fiction
PAGES: 352pages (paperback)
SOURCE: arc via publisher
RATING:
 
 

 4 ★★★★1/2

 
 
You can buy the Book here:
 Amazon | Barnes | iBooks | Kobo
 
 

BLURB FROM GOODREADS:

 
Fans of Alice Sebold and John Green will be transfixed by this sophisticated, edgy debut novel packing dark humor, biting wit, and a lot of Jack Daniels
Who put the word fun in funeral? I can’t think of anything fun about Rachel’s funeral, except for the fact that she won’t be there.
Aubrey Glass has a collection of potential suicide notes—just in case. And now, five years—and five notes—after leaving her hometown, Rachel’s the one who goes and kills herself. Aubrey can’t believe her luck.
But Rachel’s death doesn’t leave Aubrey in peace. There’s a voicemail from her former friend, left only days before her death that Aubrey can’t bring herself to listen to—and worse, a macabre memorial-turned-high-school reunion that promises the opportunity to catch up with everyone… including the man responsible for everything that went wrong between she and Rachel.
In the days leading up to the funeral and infamous after party, Aubrey slips seamlessly between her past and present. Memories of friendship tangle with painful new encounters while underneath it all Aubrey feels the rush of something closing in, something she can no longer run from. And when the past and present collide in one devastating night, nothing will be the same again.
But facing the future means confronting herself and a shattering truth. Now, Aubrey must decide what will define her: what lies behind… or what waits ahead. 

 

 

Last-Train-to-Babylon-Charlee-Fam

 

[click here for tour schedule]

 

 

REVIEW:

 

My mouth is literally hanging open when I finished this novel and I don’t even know what to feel. For real. I was angry, sad.. I wanna cry, and I want to hug someone too. I just don’t know!! But one thing is for sure, I was surprised. This book snuck up on me and totally squeezed my heart. It gripped me from the very first chapter and I never thought I’d like Aubrey so much. If you read this, you’ll be surprised.

You see, Aubrey is a b*tch. I’m sorry, but she is. According to her,she’s incapable of having feelings, which I thought was true until her story started to unravel. We found out that Rachel, Aubreys ex-bestfriend, has committed suicide. Now as Rachel’s ex-bestfriend, her mother is obligating her to go.. even if she really don’t want to. At first, I was a little confused. I mean, if you don’t want to go then don’t. But Aubrey still went home, not for Rachel, but for herself.

Aubrey must be one of the most cold hearted protagonist I’ve ever encountered. But god, my heart breaks for her too. I adore her actually for being so strong and for..surviving her tormentors in her life. I was shocked on how indifferent she feel when she found her Rachel died. And she’s so mean! She drinks a lot and yes, she’s also having suicidal thoughts, Rachel just beat her to it.

This is also one of the best beautifully written book I’ve read that deals with dark themes. Charlee Fam’s words slays. It literally cuts through you and her words just makes you.. feel. It doesn’t even matter what kind of feeling is that, whether its anger or happiness, as long as the protagonist is feeling it and Charlee Fam is describing it, you’ll definitely feel it. Charlee Fam is a brilliant author! I can’t believe this is her debut novel, it makes me excited for her upcoming books.

Last Train to Babylon is a very gritty and heartbreaking novel. Its about a woman’s journey to realizing that your past may not be the most beautiful one out there, but it doesn’t have to hold you back. Past mistakes are made to help us shape who we are right now and yes, whether we want it or not, we are gonna lose some people along the way. Especially if those people are the ones holding you back and reminds you of that past. They’re not helping, so just let them go.

Its beautiful and sad. Heartbreaking and moving. Last Train to Babylon is a wonderful debut novel!
 

 

 

 

 

THE AUTHOR:

 

Charlee Fam ap1

Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook

 

CHARLEE FAM is a twenty-something novelist living in New York City. A Long Island native, Charlee graduated from Binghamton University in 2010 with a degree in creative writing and several awards to her name. LAST TRAIN TO BABYLON is her first novel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE GIVEAWAY:

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

TOUR HOST:

Tasty Book Tours