111111

That One That Got Away
Bethany Chase
Published March 31st 2015 by Ballantine Books
352pages (kindle edition)
A/NA > Contemporary | Romance
arc via publisher

 

3 ★★★1/2

 

 

Purchase links:
Amazon | BN

 

BLURB FROM GOODREADS:

 

Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, this bright, funny debut from a fresh voice in fiction offers a delicious take on love, family, and what it means to build a home of one’s own.
Sarina Mahler thinks she has her life all nailed down: a growing architecture practice in Austin, Texas, and an any-day-now proposal from her loving boyfriend, Noah. She’s well on her way to having the family she’s hoped for since her mother’s death ten years ago. But with Noah on a temporary assignment abroad and retired Olympic swimmer — and former flame — Eamon Roy back in town asking her to renovate his new fixer-upper, Sarina’s life takes an unexpected turn.
Eamon proves to be Sarina’s dream client, someone who instinctively trusts every one of her choices — and Sarina is reminded of all the reasons she was first drawn to him back in the day. Suddenly her carefully planned future with Noah seems a little less than perfect. And when tragedy strikes, Sarina is left reeling. With her world completely upended, she is forced to question what she truly wants in life — and in love.
Full of both humor and heartbreak, The One That Got Away is the story of one woman’s discovery that, sometimes, life is what happens when you leave the blueprints behind.

 

REVIEW:

 

 

‘Every woman has one. That name you Google at two o’clock in the morning. That intoxicating connection that somehow never solidified into anything real; that particular memory you still visit every now and then, for that guaranteed hit of pure, sugar-packed dopamine. It’s that story that starts with “There was this one time” and ends, reluctantly, with “but I guess …”’

 

Katy Perry is totally playing at the background.

image

So, this was a total chick lit. And although I had some minor problems with it, I still enjoyed this book so much.

First, who agrees with that quote above? Raise of hands please. Well, I totally do. Let me tell about you about Sarina. Sarina is getting married and she’s about to see Eamon again after 7 years! Who is Eamon by the way? Well lets just say she’s Sarinas ‘There was this one time’ so I guess its kinda normal that she’s freaking out a little bit? What if she isn’t over him like what she’s saying?

The One That Got Away is very light and fun. I can absolutely say that even though Sarina is older to me, she was relatable. I like her humor and how she thinks and acts towards her situation with Eamon. She have a fiance, and SHE KNOWS IT. Her action were very acceptable to me and I admire that the way she acts is perfect for her age! Not like some immature lady who is deprived of love. I never liked those characters.

I had some problems with the pacing though. It was slow and there was a moment when I feel like it was dragging. I had to close it for awhile and talk myself into picking it up again.

But the way the story wrapped up was realistically written and I really liked it. I was even stoked when I found out that there’ll be more for Bethany Chase’s other characters. I’m really looking forward to that. Overall, The One That Got Away is recommended for readers who inhales books in this genre. If you’re looking for a beach read or a book for a lazy afternoon? TOTGA is perfect for that too!

 

 

11
Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1)/span>
Leigh Bardugo
Published June 5th 2012 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
YA > Fantasy | Romance
358pages (hardcover)
 arc via publisher

 

3 ★★★1/2

 

BLURB FROM GOODREADS:

 

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.
Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.
Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.
Shadow and Bone is the first installment in Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy.

 

REVIEW:

 

Uhm, the feels are missing.

814862

DOES THIS MEAN I DON’T HAVE A HEART?!?!?!?!?!

NAH.

“There is something more powerful than any army.  Something strong enough to topple kings, and even Darklings. Do you know what that thing is?”
I shook my head, inching away from him.
“Faith,” he breathed, his black eyes wild. “Faith”

This will be a Wishy Washy review since I know I came late to the party anyway. I feel like I’m the only one who hasn’t read it. So this speech will be short.

Bardugo’s writing is just…. I loved it. I’m instantly a fan. Alina is kickass. I love her. I do! I do! The Darkling is intriguing, He reminds me of  Warren from Ignite Me, but the Darkling is more decent and actually swoony and I actually like him. And Mal… oh my heart, MAL.

tumblr_lyjrmv1PVL1r3ovdbo1_500

The boy is sooooo fine. He knows how to make a speech. He knows how to make a girl swoon. He’s such a douche at first but seriously, it was love at first chapter.

I’m still a little lost when it comes to the whole plot which might be the reason why the feels I expected to feel is missing, but I slowly grasped it at the last few chapters. It was pretty exciting actually, and exhilarating. I immediately bought the second book. So yeah, that means I’ll be continuing with the series. I’m really looking forward for the 2 books left. I’m sensing a love triangle but I’m completely fine with it and well, I’m not really sure if it’ll be a love triangle.

Overall, I may not over gaga about Shadow and Bone it’s still one satisfying read. And besides, this is usually me when it come to first books on series. I can’t wait to read the second installment, hopefully, I will be completely and utterly invested with it.

 

 

 

 

 

23163709

Down from the Mountain
Elizabeth Fixmer
March 1st 2015 by Albert Whitman & Company
YA
272pages (hardcover)
arc via publisher

 

4 ★★★★

 

Purchase links:
Amazon 

 

BLURB FROM GOODREADS:

 

Eva just wants to be a good disciple of Righteous Path. She grew up knowing that she’s among the chosen few to be saved from Armageddon. Lately, though, being saved feels awfully treacherous. Ever since they moved to the compound in Colorado, their food supplies have dwindled even while their leader, Ezekiel, has stockpiled weapons. The only money comes from the jewelry Eva makes and sells down in Boulder–a purpose she’ll serve until she becomes one of Ezekiel’s wives. But a college student named Trevor and the other “heathens” she meets on her trips beyond the compound are far different from what she’s been led to believe. Now Eva doesn’t know which is more dangerous–the outside world, or Brother Ezekiel’s plans 

 

 

 

REVIEW:

 

Down from the Mountain is the first book that’s I’ve read about cults. And to be honest, this book is still haunting me. I’ve never expected that it was gonna be that honest and shocking. My knowledge about cults is limited, I just know that they exist and that’s it. So when I first read the blurb of Down from the Mountain, my interest was piqued and I just know that I have to read it.

Elizabeth Fixmer’s writing is really vivid. It feels like you are right there along with the main characters environment and experiencing what her characters are going through. I mentioned in my past reviews that I loved putting myself in the main characters shoes when I’m reading because it helps me understand the book even more, but in here, it was hard. Eva is so young and her strength and her curious mind is admirable. I asked myself, ‘What if I’m on Eva’s shoes? At that age. With that kind of situation. What will I do?’ I came up with.. nothing.

The plot, everything in this book actually, is so real that it terrifies me. Because what’s happening are twisted and scary and some are even inhumane. I found out that Elizabeth Fixmer is really someone who works with people who are rescued from a cult that’s why everything screams ‘accurate’. And yes, that little fact over there just terrified me even more.

Down from the Mountain is really a book worth reading! Read and your eyes will be open about some dark things that is really happening in our world. Elizabeth Fixmer is brave and admirable because of writing such a book like this. Down from the Mountain deserves to be in your shelf!

Paula