11
The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
Stephanie Oakes
Expected publication: June 9th 2015 by Dial/Penguin

 

400pages (kindle edition)
arc via publisher

 

5 ★★★★★

 

Purchase links:
Amazon | BN | TBDKobo

 

BLURB FROM GOODREADS:

 

With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, Julie Berry’s All The Truth That’s in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.
The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.
And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.
Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it’s clear that Minnow knows something—but she’s not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.
The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.

 

 

BYB_BLOGTOUR
[tour schedule]

 

REVIEW:

 

Once in a while, you’ll read a book and it will completely blow your mind and you’ll be helpless and just recommend it to EVERYONE. The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly just took my breath away. Literally. This book is everything I’ve been looking for this year. I don’t give my 5 stars that easy, in fact, I only gave one book a five star this year so far (not counting this book) But in here, its like five star is not enough.

Stephanie Oakes’ writing is stunning. It’s powerful and gripping. I found myself holding my breath in every revelation, every secret, every word that Minnow drops. I was enthralled and hypnotized the whole time I was reading, like Stephanie has a very powerful hold on me and I’m not even complaining.

There’s a lot of things that made this book a success and one of them is our intriguing main character, Minnow Bly. From the very first chapter, I know she’s gonna challenge me. And yes she did. The whole time I was not sure if she’s telling the truth or if she was just playing me. She really made me think and my whole body and mind was invested to this story because of her voice. She’s handless, but she’s not a victim. She definitely has secrets, but does that mean she’s the villain?

Minnow wasn’t the only memorable character that Stephanie Oakes created. My heart is still mourning and aching for Jude. Every character, every person that Minnow interacted with… they leave something in you. They matter. They’re authentic.

The plot of this book is obviously created by a brilliant mind. And you will agree with me once you read it. The writing, the atmosphere, the whole construction of the story… I couldn’t think of any word but BRILLIANT or/and perfect.

I don’t even know if this review made some sense to you or if it convinced you in any way so I’ll just sum it up in here: THIS BOOK IS EPIC AND I KNOW YOU’LL LOVE IT SO DO YOURSELF A FAVOR A READ IT. That is all.

 

 

AUTHOR:

 

author pic 1

Website | Twitter | Tumblr

Stephanie Oakes is a teacher and YA author from Washington State. Her debut novel, THE SACRED LIES OF MINNOW BLY (Dial/Penguin, June 9, 2015), about a girl who escapes from a religious commune only to find herself at the center of a murder investigation, is based on the Grimm fairy tale, “The Handless Maiden.”

THE ARSONIST, her second YA mystery through Dial/Penguin, is scheduled for publication in fall 2016.

 

 

 

 

 

GIVEAWAY:

 

giveaway

 

 

Win a finished copy of THE SACRED LIES OF MINNOW BLY and some swag (US Only)

Giveaway starts June 1st – Giveaway ends June 11th

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 

HOSTED BY:

 

FFBC Book Tours