11
Denton Little’s Deathdate (Denton Little #1)
Lance Rubin
Published April 14th 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
YA > SciFi | Contemporary | Humor
arc via publisher
 
 
3 ★★★
 
 
Purchase links:
Amazon | BN 
 
 

BLURB FROM GOODREADS:

 
Fans of John Green and Matthew Quick: Get ready to die laughing.
Denton Little’s Deathdate takes place in a world exactly like our own except that everyone knows the day they will die. For 17-year-old Denton Little, that’s tomorrow, the day of his senior prom.
Despite his early deathdate, Denton has always wanted to live a normal life, but his final days are filled with dramatic firsts. First hangover. First sex. First love triangle (as the first sex seems to have happened not with his adoring girlfriend, but with his best friend’s hostile sister. Though he’s not totally sure. See: first hangover.) His anxiety builds when he discovers a strange purple rash making its way up his body. Is this what will kill him? And then a strange man shows up at his funeral, claiming to have known Denton’s long-deceased mother, and warning him to beware of suspicious government characters…. Suddenly Denton’s life is filled with mysterious questions and precious little time to find the answers.
Debut author Lance Rubin takes us on a fast, furious, and outrageously funny ride through the last hours of a teenager’s life as he searches for love, meaning, answers, and (just maybe) a way to live on.
 
 [tour schedule]
 

 

 Welcome to my stop for the Denton Little’s Deathdate PH tour! Gah, thank you for books like this its like taking a break. Huge thanks to PINOY BOOK TOURS for organizing such an awesome book tour and for including me!

 

REVIEW:

 

 

Reading Denton Little’s Deathdate is such a wild ride. A little weird but a lot of fun. Anyways, who doesn’t like weird!? I’m personally up for anything weird whether its on what I read or even in real life. But what’s the best about Denton Little’s Deathdate is that its the kind of weird that makes you laugh and think!

Being inside of Denton’s head is definitely a blast and even though not everything went smooth sailing, I still enjoyed the whole book and half of the reason is Denton’s humorous point of view. I just don’t know what to expect from him.. Sometimes I totally forget that he’s 17 though and thought of him as a 12 or 13 year old boy. Maybe it comes with being a male? Anyway, it didn’t really made the book bad or unreadable, surprisingly, the fun factor is upped because of that. Add a character like Paolo and you got yourself a laugh-out-loud book.

Its also amazing to read a book about death that is not depressing at al!! That’s absolutely why you need to read this book. Lance Rubin did a funny and kind of bizarre book that is thought provoking and unique. You have to admit, DLD has one of the most morbid yet creative concept. Imagine you’re in Denton’s place? What would you do? Think? Act? Is it morbid to think that? Well, you won’t help it because it comes in reading the book.

This book definitely has a sequel and some readers are not thrilled with it (ahhh that cliffy!) But really, I’m not complaining. I’ll be on the lookout because I really wanna know what’s gonna happen next. I didn’t swoon that much in here which I know isn’t the main point of the book but still!!! I’m looking forward to Denton and his love interest’s moments.

If you like your book weird but smart, bizarre but still meaningful, I highly recommend knowing Denton!!

 

AUTHOR:

 

Author photo

Website | Twitter 

 

Hey there, I’m Lance Rubin. After years of being a GoodReads reader, I am delighted to now also be a GoodReads author. My first book, DENTON LITTLE’S DEATHDATE, comes out from Knopf in Spring 2015.

I’m from New Jersey. It’s a way better state than people give it credit for. I went to Brown University, and now I live in Brooklyn with my wife and son. They are delightful people. Before I became an author, I was primarily an actor. “Anything I’d recognize you from?” you might ask. Probably not, unless you watched the short-lived NBC hospital show MERCY, in which I guest-starred as a patient with a naked sleepwalking problem.

By my late 20’s, the acting business was making me sad, so I started to focus more on writing.

Now I’m primarily a writer and it makes me incredibly happy.

Harry Potter is one of my favorite things of all time. JK Rowling is a storytelling genius, I’m endlessly impressed by what she did there. AZKABAN is my favorite, if only because it has one of the most satisfying climaxes ever. And involves time travel.

I also love Josh Ferris’s THEN WE CAME TO THE END, Julie Orringer’s THE INVISIBLE BRIDGE, Stephen King’s 11/22/63, Elizabeth Strout’s OLIVE KITTERIDGE, Sherman Alexie’s THE ABSOLUTELY TRUE DIARY OF A PART-TIME INDIAN, Lois Lowry’s THE GIVER, and everything by George Saunders, Michael Chabon, and Jonathan Lethem.

BACK TO THE FUTURE is my favorite movie. When I was younger, I dreamed about being Marty McFly. Now I dream about being an amalgam of Robert Zemeckis and Bob Gale. I don’t really dream that. But I love the screenplay they wrote.

I also love Pixar, the New York Knicks, Joss Whedon, and the Before Sunrise Trilogy.

Some last things:

-I have a podcast with one of my best friends, Ray Munoz. Our guests are often people with careers in the arts. We talk about creativity and make jokes. Always 20 minutes or less. Listen on iTunes or here:www.thelanceandrayshow.com

-I often battle the demons of procrastination. In fact, I shouldn’t be writing this bio right now. I’m supposed to be working on my second book, a companion to the first. I will get back to it in two minutes. I swear.

-I am not a cat person, but I respect people who are. Kind of.

-I am the voice of the Berenstain Bears audiobooks.

-I am very bad at baseball.

I’m so glad to be here. Can’t wait for you all to read DENTON LITTLE’S DEATHDATE. Reach out and say hello!

 

 

TOUR HOST:

Pinoy BOOK TOURS

Paula