ARC REVIEW: Don’t Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom + Giveaway!!

11
Don’t Ever Change
M. Beth Bloom
Published July 7th 2015 by HarperTeen
YA > Contemporary | Romance

 

3 ★★★1/2

 
 
Purchase links:
Amazon | TBD | BN | Kobo | iTunes
 
 

BLURB FROM GOODREADS:

 
Eva has always wanted to write a modern classic—one that actually appeals to her generation. The only problem is that she has realized she can’t “write what she knows” because she hasn’t yet begun to live. So before heading off to college, Eva is determined to get a life worth writing about.
Soon Eva’s life encounters a few unexpected plot twists. She becomes a counselor at a nearby summer camp—a job she is completely unqualified for. She starts growing apart from her best friends before they’ve even left for school. And most surprising of all, she begins to fall for the last guy she would have ever imagined. But no matter the roadblocks, or writer’s blocks, it is all up to Eva to figure out how she wants this chapter in her story to end.
Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell,Don’t Ever Change is a witty, snarky, and thought-provoking coming-of-age young adult novel about a teen who sets out to write better fiction and, ultimately, discovers the truth about herself.
 
 
12
[tour schedule]
 

 

 

 

REVIEW:

 

‘This is all I know: that I’m young and I’m about to finish high school and I write. But what else, what else.’

I didn’t know what to expect when I first saw the cover of Don’t Ever Change. I even thought it was non fiction and almost dismissed it. (See, this is what happens when you don’t read blurbs) But it turns out, Don’t Ever Change will be one of the most character driven book I’ll read this year. Its filled with very simple yet realistic set of characters.

If you ask me what Don’t Ever Change is about, I’ll just tell you that its like a memoir. A short, funny and poignant memoir of a girl who wants to achieve her dreams and goals. And she won’t take no for an answer. Giving up in never an option either. But change is.

Eva is a writer, not published or anything and she just graduated from highschool. I know that some readers may have a problem with Eva’s ‘tude because she can be so…. uptight or judgemental but I actually really, REALLY liked her. The girl is ambitious and I don’t see anything wrong with that. It was actually fun to see her learn the consequences from her mistakes. And by the end, she grew up a lot. I also adored the humorous banter of Eva and her sister which I admit that sometimes, doesn’t make sense to me.

The romance wasn’t highlighted that much but I really wish it was mainly because the guy is so so adorable! So adorable I just wanna pinch his cheeks and hug him to death. I was a bit sad towards the end because I feel the good part of their romance is just starting then BAM!! It ends.

Overall, Don’t Ever Change depicts a very accurate coming of age story of a girl who thinks she got everything mapped out. The book’s message is something worth reading even though you’re not a writer like the main character. The characters are realistically done and Eva’s meaningful summer is something you’ll not forget soon.

 

 

 

AUTHOR:

 

author pic 1Twitter | Facebook

 

M. Beth Bloom is a novelist and a screenwriter. Her fiction has appeared in StoryQuarterly and Dave Eggers’s Best American Nonrequired Reading series. She is also the author of Drain You. M. Beth lives in Los Angeles.

 

 

 

 

 

GIVEAWAY:

 

11

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

TOUR HOST:

FFBC Tours

12 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Don’t Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom + Giveaway!!

  1. I love the idea of deciding to do something and doing it. This idea of “getting a life” and seizing the moment.

  2. Hi! Yes Im excited to read this one!!! Just seeing the cover feels like I really want to read it. And btw, I love love stories or romance or whatever that makes me feel in love haha! Yeah right! Much love for the author M. Beth xoxo <3

  3. It’s true that it’s a different kind of cover there. I love the fact that we have realistic character, it’s always so easier to relate. thanks for the review!

  4. This sounds absolutely amazing Paula! 🙂 I’m usually not a huge fan of self-discovery books, but the characterization and the realism the story contains makes me want to give this one a try even despite that. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ♥
    Zoe @ Stories on Stage recently posted…You’ll Never Meet MeMy Profile

  5. This book sounds wonderful. I left my teen years behind a while ago, but I can relate to the MC who had her life plan all mapped, but ended up making a few unexpected turns with a life not quite like she imagined.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge