11
Pieces of Why
K.L. Going
Published September 8th 2015 by Kathy Dawson Books
YA > Realistic Fiction | Contemporary
 
 

 

3 ★★★ 1/2

 

 

Purchase links:
AMAZON | BN | TBD
 
 

BLURB FROM GOODREADS:

 

From the award winning author of Fat Kid Rules the World andThe Liberation of Gabriel King comes a lyrical, middle grade gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes–perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine.
 Tia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia’s dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can’t sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions–questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask.
 Full of humanity, Pieces of Why is a timely story that addresses grief, healing, and forgiveness, told through the eyes of a gifted girl who hears rhythm and song everywhere in her life.
 
1
[tour schedule

 

 

 

REVIEW:

 

 

“Did being the daughter of a murderer mean I’d grow up to do horrible things?”

Whenever we hear of a gun shooting incident, our thoughts are immediately about the victims. And there’s nothing remotely wrong about that, in fact, its the most obvious thing to do. To sympathize with the victims. And to think of all the vicious and nasty things we could think of towards the shooter. Some of us may do it unconsciously, but the point is, we still do it. What rarely pass on our thoughts though was the families of the shooter. When this kind of event happens, it’s not only hard for the victims… but for the shooters family as well.

Pieces of Why is such a thought provoking novel. My eyes and my mind was opened. And my heart was even tested. Who can really answer the questions that has been on Tia’s mind for so long? And who says if they’re right? With a situation like Tia’s, what is the definition of right and wrong?

Tia is an amazing character. A kid who is going through a lot and whose mind is filled with questions. Its amazing how PIECES OF WHY tackled lots of aspect when it comes to a teens life. This book touched puberty, friendship, family relationship and there’s even a hint of romance that I must say is truly appropriate.

I absolutely recommend Pieces of Why to every kind of reader out there. Some may be hesitant because of Tia’s age but you’ll be surprised by how Tia’s story can tug your heart strings. Poignant, thought provoking and beautifully written, KL Going just weaved a precious and brilliant story!

 

 

 

 

AUTHOR:

 Caroline-Patti-225x300

WEBSITE | GOODREADS | TWITTER | FACEBOOK |

 

KL Going is the award winning author of books for children and teens. Her first novel, Fat Kid Rules the World was named a Michael Printz honor book by the American Library Association, as well as one of the Best Books for Young Adults from the past decade. Her books have been Booksense picks, Scholastic Book Club choices, Junior Library Guild selections, winners of state book awards, and featured by Publishers

Weekly, School Library Journal, and Children’s Book Council as Best Books. Her work has been published in Korea, Italy, Japan and the UK.

KL began her career working at one of the oldest literary agencies in New York City. She used this inner knowledge of publishing to write Writing and Selling the Young Adult Novel — a how-to book for aspiring writers, published by Writer’s Digest. She has also written short stories for several anthologies and currently has two picture books under contract for future release. She currently lives in Glen Spey, NY where she both writes and runs a business critiquing manuscripts. To visit KL on-line go to www.klgoing.com.

 

 

 

 
   

GIVEAWAY:

 

3

 

1st Prize: Win a signed galley of Pieces of Why, a Fat Kid movie, a signed Fat Kid original book cover, a signed poster of Saint Iggy and Read Great Books bumper sticker (US Only)
2nd Prize: Win a signed galley of Pieces of Why, a signed paperback of The Liberation of Gabriel King, a sign poster for The Garden of Eve and a Read Great Books bumper sticker (US Only)
3rd Prize: Win a signed galley of Pieces of Why, an audio edition of The Garden of Eve, a signed poster for The Garden of Eve and a Read Great Books bumper sticker (US Only)

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

TOUR HOST:

FFBC Tours

Paula