Review: Alive by Scott Siegler

Alive
Scott Sigler
Published July 14th 2015 by Del Rey
Young Adult | Science Fiction | Dystopia | Thriller | Mystery
368 pages
Purchased

 

 

4.5/5 Stars

 

 

BLURB FROM GOODREADS:

From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.

 

 

REVIEW:

 

This book is fast paced, action packed, and completely blew my mind. I love love LOVE well written sci-fi books and this one kept me interested and theorizing until the last page.

Our main character here is a girl named Savage. (Which I thought was a pretty cool name.) She’s tough, functions well under pressure, but can also be cold and power hungry. Savage takes leadership over all the kids and is unwilling to hand over her power. She is almost obsessed with maintaining her position. She even becomes paranoid that other people are trying to challenge her. One of my favorite parts of this book was analyzing her thought processes. All of the kids seem so simple minded when talking about leadership because they say things like “But its my turn to be in charge!” It really struck me how Savage had to make so many difficult decisions so quickly to determine the fate of all these people.

When everyone wakes up no one knows who they are. They have to base it off of their coffins which only say their first initial and last name & I liked how their real first names were a mystery. Not only that, but the kids last names were great. Savage, Spingate, O’Malley. (GREY’S ANATOMY ANYONE?)

The reason this is only a 4.5 star book for me was because I felt the writing was inconsistent. The characters talk like they are older then 12 but they have thought processes of children. I found that pretty confusing. After, I finished I think I understand why this was done (if it was intentional) and now it makes more sense. Although I’m still not a fan of the inconsistent writing but since it had a purpose it didn’t bring my rating down too much. 

I believe this is supposed to be a trilogy.  There are still a good amount of questions left unanswered which I’m hoping get addressed in the next book. I will definitely be attempting to get my hands on an ARC of the next one before it comes out. I think this book is perfect for anyone who loves really mysterious sci-fi! 

SAMhbt

One thought on “Review: Alive by Scott Siegler

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge