19141361TITLE: Amity
AUTHOR: Micol Ostow
PUBLICATION: Expected publication: August 26th 2014 by EgmontUSA
GENRE: YA > Horror | Paranormal | Retelling
PAGES: 368pages (Hardcover)
SOURCE: ARC ebook from publisher (Netgalley)
RATING:  3★★
BUY THE BOOK HERE:
AMAZON | B&N | TBD

 

 

BLURB FROM GOODREADS:

For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror.

Connor’s family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen’s family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she’s recovered from a psychotic break.

But something is not right about this secluded house. Connor’s nights are plagued with gore-filled dreams of demons and destruction. Dreams he kind of likes. Gwen has lurid visions of corpses that aren’t there and bleeding blisters that disappear in the blink of an eye. She knows Amity is evil and she must get her family out, but who would ever believe her?

Amity isn’t just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a bloody end as she’s done before. As she’ll do again.

Alternating between parallel narratives, Amity is a tense and terrifying tale suggested by true-crime events that will satisfy even the most demanding horror fan.

 

REVIEW:

I don’t know why I haven’t heard of this classic movie/novel called Amityille before (actually I know) but apparently, this is where the novel was based from. I haven’t read it, and I honestly don’t plan on reading it. (Unless, is it good?)

 

tumblr_lrzfxdijeE1qj7u8ao1_500

I really want to LOVE this The book wasn’t bad. It’s just, it’s… slightly boring. Is boring bad? All I know is that  it doesn’t deserve a 2 or 1 star from ME.

Here’s the gist. Two Families. 10 years gap. One house that somehow conects their story.

 

tumblr_lpc06um9qA1qi71g4o1_500

 

It’s a past and present narration. Connor’s POV in the past and Gwen’s POV  in present. And like I said, their stories are intertwined.

Look/read that blurb. Do you understand why I do not want to just ignore this book? Even though I’m not a big fan of Horror genre, I cannot miss that storyline. The first time I’ve read it, I was instantly intrigued and I just know that I have to read it. There were chapters where I got goosebumps. There was even some chapters where I have to stop because every darn noise in my environment is making me jump. I know, I know… I’M A SCAREDY CAT.  The writing is unbelievably vivid. You want the bloody, gory details? You’re gonna get that! You want to be inside a strange and slightly disturbed character? You’re gonna get that as well. The author doesn’t hold back when it comes to details. 

The storyline really appealed to me and from the first few chapters, I was scared and excited. I was actually excited to be scared! Does that even make sense. Anyway, the first part were captivating. Creepy phonecalls and all that. Seeing people who were really not there and all that. And then, I don’t know what happened, but it became dull. The author has this thing. She’s doing little things that will get you excited for what will happen in the next chapter and then… and then… when you FINALLY get to that chapter where you will SCREAM…

flop.

meh.

tumblr_m99yd8Pfp21r3k73wo2_1280

Intriguing plotline and Creative writing, what’s not to like? I’ll tell you what. The characters. They’re not annoying or frustrating or anything like that. Honestly, they are not anything at all. They’re too… bland. Weak, if you ask me. Not powerful enough to keep me interested.  I did not even connect, to any of them, even for a second. Like I mentioned above, they are kind of disturbing and strange but I don’t know about you, but that is not an excuse. I’m actually a little strange too, so.. I wonder why. Maybe because I’m the good and adorable (lol, who’s gonna compliment me but me) kind of strange.

Amity lacked… something. I didn’t get the trembling and creepy read that I was expecting BUT I was enthralled at some parts. Amity may have boring characters and I may have struggled because of it, but the storytelling was a little spine chilling. If you’re one of those people who LOVE scary and creepy stuff, maybe you should just hold off reading this. Because I’m pretty sure you’ll just laugh at this. But if you’re like me who get scared easily, like even your own shadow scares you, then have at it!

Oh hey, any of you have read/seen the Amity movie or novel? How was it?